This is the site of the last opposed invasion of England in 1667 and the first land battle of the Royal Marines. The current fort was built in the 18th century, and modified in the 19th century with substantial additional 19th/20th-century outside batteries.
Guided tours and audio tours of the fort are supplemented by a DVD presentation of the site's history, and by guided tours of the outside batteries. A new guidebook tells the fascinating history of the Fort.
The nearby submarine mining building houses Felixstowe Museum's Collections of local interest.
Dates Opening Times Opening Days
21 Mar - 31 May 10am-5pm Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, & Sun.
1 Jun-30 Sep 10am-6pm Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, & Sun.
1 Oct - 2 Nov 10am-5pm Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, & Sun.
Free entry for children under 5 and wheelchair users.
Please call the fort on 07749 695 523 or email email@example.com for details and charges for special events and guided tours. Please note that everyone, including English Heritage members, will be asked to pay for entry when an event is in progress. No unaccompanied under 16's. (Managed by the Landguard Fort Trust.)
Directions to Landguard Fort:
Road Access: 1 mile S of Felixstowe town centre - follow signs to LandguardPoint
Felixstowe 2 1⁄2 miles
First 75-7 Ipswich - Felixstowe Dock to within 3⁄4 mile of site.
Be sure to check out other English Heritage